Vega Community

share. learn. thrive!

Be careful, there is phishing going on on the board!!

If you don't know what "phishing" is, it is an unknown person or source that is contacting you via email through a community or board and they usually leave you an email to contact them and INSIST that you contact them directly. This means SCAM!!!

The email mentions this person leaving me a comment on my profile, but upon searching my page, could not find or see it. I even searched through the members list and could not find their username.  And I did not click on the direct link in my email as to avoid a third party site where a possible spy or virus can be waiting for me.

Please take good judgment when going through your emails.

Regards,
Rich

Views: 2

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Richard,

Indeed - there has been some spam getting through this week. Here at the Vega Community, we carefully monitor all content that is posted and are very strict in checking for spam. Unfortunately, sometimes spam messages get through in spite of our efforts – like the one you experienced.

When this does happen, we deal with spammers as quickly as possible. We delete the offending member, at which point all of their messages are automatically deleted and blocked. This is why you were unable to find the message when you checked your page (we had already deleted the user).

We're also working with Ning right now to see how we can make our spam fighting efforts even stronger!

Thank you for helping us to keep this community spam-free.

Jill - Sequel Naturals
PS: You can also update your settings on the Community so that you can approve all comments before they are posted to your page.

All you have to do is click 'Manage my page' beneath your profile picture. Then select the 'Privacy tab' and under 'When someone adds a comment on my profile...' check 'Wait for my Approval'.

Let me know if you need help in doing this!
Rich,

I have also received a similar email this morning asking me to contact them directly, so all be aware of this person.

The email address attached to the request is favourdesmond_10@yahoo.com BE AWARE OF THESE WANKAS
I got an email from a girl hitting on me! :-O

Reply to Discussion

RSS

© 2013   Created by Vega Kelly.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service